Nikon and Sigma? Help!

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by CaitlinsCreations, Jan 28, 2009.

1. CaitlinsCreations

CaitlinsCreations TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ok, so I am ready to upgrade my old stuff and plan to buy the Nikon D300 soon. I really want to get a 70-200 lens, but the Nikon brand is pretty $$$
    Does anyone know if the Sigma 70-200 is fully compatible with the D300? It's half the price, and I have heard that Sigma works with Nikon, so I want to double check.

I am a great photographer but have not studied a lot of equipment...I hate that stigma (no pun intended) that a professional photographer should know all there is to know about specs on every lens and camera, but it's not like you can take a class on "what to buy" or anything.

2. Pure

Pure TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The Sigma is according to many, is a fantastic lens. There are a few bad copies I believe.[?]
    Sigma | 70-200mm f/2.8 II EX DG APO Macro HSM AF Lens | 579-306

Or this
    This is the best tele zoom lens for under $1000 for Nikon. The only downside is the older AF-D. Which means the lens uses the motor thats built into the D300 and is louder than the AF-S, which uses a motor built into the lens. You also lose VR with this cheaper lens, but heh, its $700 cheaper.
    Nikon | 80-200mm f/2.8 ED AF-D Autofocus Lens with Tripod | 1986

3. CaitlinsCreations

Photos NOT OK to edit
    This is going to sound dumb, but what do you mean by a bad copy? Like a few of them are not made as well as the rest?

What is VR?

4. NateWagner

NateWagner TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    yeah, as with any lens maker there are some copies of a lens that is not quite as good, or sharp as another. Sigma tends to have more complaints about that than the first party makers (I.E. Canon or Nikon)