Nikon Card problems

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by chroix, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. chroix

    chroix In Latin it's "spikius conius thingonius"

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had a few times lately when I've shot a cards worth of shots with my D70... look fine on the camera.. go to dump them the next day on my computer and none of the files work. All are corrupted.. anybody have a similar experience and/or solution. So far I've been fortunate enough to be able to reshoot, but as I work at a couple of magazines this is not always available and I don't want to have to reshoot. Lost a couple of really good shots last night and I'm about fed up with the whole thing.
     
  2. Tiberius

    Tiberius TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Have you tried formatting the card yet? I format the card each time I dump images off of it to avoid these problems.
     
  3. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    does it happen with more than one card?.... or is it just the same card?
    Also, how are you transfering them to your computer?..... are you using a seperate reader.... or camera software..... or just accessing the camera folder?
     
  4. chroix

    chroix In Latin it's "spikius conius thingonius"

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    multiple cards..external firewire reader, although it doesn't work through the USB port either.

    Do you really reformat your card every time?
     
  5. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i do.... as soon as the pics are backed up i reformat the card.... this could be the solution..... seems strange that they are corrupt if they are being transfered straight from the camera.
     
  6. Eugene

    Eugene TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    got the same trouble with my Nicon card... Have to format my card every time...
     
  7. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I haven't had that problem, but for future reference, do you format the FC in the computer or in the camera or does it make a difference?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Tiberius

    Tiberius TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Format it in the Camera. Easiest way to guarantee compatibility without issues.
     

Share This Page