NIKON CLS

Yuichisuke

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I have an SB-28 & a D70s
I was considering buying an SB-800 or SB-600
Is it possible to keep my SB-28 on my camera while I have my SB-600/800 off camera with both firing? I'm new to the flashes, thanks in advance!

CLS uses an infrared optical wireless transmission method to trigger off camera speedlights.

The SB-800 has a mode called SU4 that allows it to be triggered optically, but the SB-600 doesn't. SB-800's aren't made anymore so used is about your only option for acquiring one.

There are accessories that can be added to the SB-600 that allow it to trigger from a visible flash of light. Sorry no TTL or remote communication with the SB-600. http://flashzebra.com/products/0129/index.shtml

Many people are going to triggering off camera flash using radio triggers.

you have a d70s, it's got commander mode which can set off the SB-600 or SB-800! you can choose whether or not the pop up flash affects the exposure. while it's not gonna be as good as your sb-28, the pop up flash and a sb-800/900 are the only flashes that can act as a commander with Nikon CLS.

if you wanna use the SB-28 and SB-600/800 at the same time, you're probably gonna want a set of radio triggers, ebay has a bunch of cheap, relatively reliable ones.

Thank you very much!

Is it possible for the SB-800 & SB-600 to be used off camera and the D70s being the master? I was considering selling my Sb-28 and buying both SB-800/600

I was looking at the cactus V4's.
Do they work well with Nikon speedlights & cameras?
For the receivers do they have a hot shoe mount to mount onto a light stand?

Last edited:
Thank you very much!

Is it possible for the SB-800 & SB-600 to be used off camera and the D70s being the master? I was considering selling my Sb-28 and buying both SB-800/600

I was looking at the cactus V4's.
Do they work well with Nikon speedlights & cameras?