NIKON CLS

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Yuichisuke, Mar 25, 2010.

1. Yuichisuke

Yuichisuke TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So I have an SB-28 & a D70s
    I was considering buying an SB-800 or SB-600
    Is it possible to keep my SB-28 on my camera while I have my SB-600/800 off camera with both firing? I'm new to the flashes, thanks in advance!

2. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    CLS uses an infrared optical wireless transmission method to trigger off camera speedlights.

The SB-800 has a mode called SU4 that allows it to be triggered optically, but the SB-600 doesn't. SB-800's aren't made anymore so used is about your only option for acquiring one.

There are accessories that can be added to the SB-600 that allow it to trigger from a visible flash of light. Sorry no TTL or remote communication with the SB-600. http://flashzebra.com/products/0129/index.shtml

Many people are going to triggering off camera flash using radio triggers.

3. PatrickCheung

PatrickCheung TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    you have a d70s, it's got commander mode which can set off the SB-600 or SB-800! you can choose whether or not the pop up flash affects the exposure. while it's not gonna be as good as your sb-28, the pop up flash and a sb-800/900 are the only flashes that can act as a commander with Nikon CLS.

if you wanna use the SB-28 and SB-600/800 at the same time, you're probably gonna want a set of radio triggers, ebay has a bunch of cheap, relatively reliable ones.

4. Yuichisuke

Yuichisuke TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thank you very much!

Is it possible for the SB-800 & SB-600 to be used off camera and the D70s being the master? I was considering selling my Sb-28 and buying both SB-800/600

I was looking at the cactus V4's.
    Do they work well with Nikon speedlights & cameras?