Nikon Coolpix 4800 won't recognize SD card

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by osp001, May 7, 2009.

1. osp001

osp001 TPF Noob!

Howdy! I'm a photographer from way back when- used to do my own B&W prints, in fact. I'm on my second digital camera; picked it up, and now I have a problem not covered in the manual. Of course, it's 5 years old, so it's bound to be busted SOMEHOW.

Bought a Nikon Coolpix 4800 off of eBay; it works just fine, except for one thing: when I put in an SD card, it still only recognizes internal memory. I select format- no dice, it just formats the internal memory. I've tried both 1 gig and 2 gig SD cards- no joy. I've tried formatting them on an external card reader/writer- still no joy.

I'm beginning to suspect that my $40 investment was a mistake, but if anyone has any other suggestions, I'm willing to listen!

Thanks in advance.

2. Dwig

Dwig TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    1. Is there a menu choice to select between the card and internal memory and if so did you select the card?

2. When you formatted the cards in the external card reader were you careful to select FAT and not use the usually defaut FAT32?

3. digital flower

digital flower No longer a newbie, moving up!

Did you try a smaller size/slower card?

4. osp001

osp001 TPF Noob!

Thanks for all the replies; no options come up for formatting- it just offers formatting of the internal memory. Similarly, I've tried formatting both ways (FAT and FAT32)- no joy.

I wish I could find a smaller SD card to try! I thought I had one around here somewhere, but it must be buried if I do. The smallest I can find is a 1 gig card from Walgreen's- which cost me more than a 2 gig card from Fry's Electronics.

I'm starting to think there's something wrong with the interface between the card and the camera, but I'll try to find a smaller card somewhere before I give up completely.

5. Dwig

Dwig TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit