Nikon D-60 - question about RAW + jpg basic

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Leprakawn, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Okay, I realized a number of months ago about the greatness of using RAW-formatted imgs vs. any of the jpg options. And considering earlier tonight was my first run at being a "professional" photographer for a church event, I figured I would adjust the setting to RAW + jpg basic... just so I could see what the original appearance would look like before I started tinkering around with the photos in Photomatix.

    Now I can already hear, "Why not go and retake the pictures?" Well, unfortunately this was a one-time event where I was taking pictures of people at the event, so doing that would be pretty much impossible.

    Now, to jump into issue I seem to be having: as I already stated, the pictures were supposed to be taken in RAW + jpg basic formats; however, when I load the camera onto my machine, it appears that they are all RAW formatted imgs. But when I move everything over to my machine, they are all automatically jpg basic.

    I am dumbfounded, and I have no idea what to do to get the RAW capability to work. [​IMG]

    So, does anyone here have any helpful suggestions?

    Thanks for your help!
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  2. SilverAWD

    SilverAWD TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Doesn't answer your question but, would it be RAW on your machine if you had left it just on RAW on your camera?
     
  3. mrmacedonian

    mrmacedonian TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    This has happened to me. If/when I attempted to copy them to my tower via a copy from the card they were all automatically converted to jpegs. I had to do this due to my Canon EOS Utility (what I usually use to import to the computer) wasn't working.

    In any case, I found that if i attempt to bring the files to my computer in any other way they don't work, so I uninstalled and reinstalled the Canon EOS Utility, through which the downloads have worked fine since.

    I suggest going to the website of your camera manufacturer and downloading their import utility. Other than that, ensure that the correct program is set to automatically open the RAW format type (i.e. .CR2) for me.

    Best of luck!
     
  4. mrmacedonian

    mrmacedonian TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Just saw you're using Nikon D60 (srry a bit slow tonight)

    This ViewNX should do the trick? Install and connect the CAMERA to the Computer, not the card itself.
     
  5. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ummm, to be blatantly honest, leaving them as RAW on my camera defeats the purpose of even taking the picture! I intend to use the small jpg as a baseline, and I want to use the RAW img in Photomatix (or really... create a series of imgs with the one RAW file) so I can make awesome HDR photography.
     
  6. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Just downloaded it... let's see what happens next! [​IMG]
     
  7. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Okay, it is obviously my first time to use this software, so maybe I am missing something here. The imgs still appear to be small jpg, but I am able to increase their quality, so that might help a bit. I will run a test print later. But I would like to know how to convert the img to RAW. Any tips for that, mrmacedonian?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  8. mrmacedonian

    mrmacedonian TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The only two DSLRs I've had have both been Canon, so I'm afraid I don't have much advice past what I already said. With my Rebel XTi, I open the EOS Utility and click "Transfer All" on the computer, this transfered the RAW and JPEG, as I shoot both, into the folder hierarchy I established in the options. I was hoping it would be as easy for you once you downloaded ViewNX. Interestingly, with the 50D pressing "Transfer All" on the computer end of the EOS Utility produces an error for me, so I have to actually press "Transfer All Images" via the camera menu itself, then it works.

    This is just most of my experience with Canon + EOS Utility, I kind of doubt it will parallel with your situation but perhaps you can try a few things.

    Best of luck, perhaps going to Nikon's sit and read the Product Manual for ViewNX will help? they've got it up as PDF and it might show you more options.
     
  9. SilverAWD

    SilverAWD TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Sorry, I am a noob and am looking for the answer as well.
    So when you take pictures as RAW on your camera, you still cannot pull up the RAW file on your computer?
     
  10. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    When I take pictures in RAW format, I can connect the camera and ctrl+c/+v them to my computer, and then they work as needed in PS.

    But now I am learning that the RAW+small jpg does not take the shot in two separate formats. I really wish I had time to test that out before the event last night. However, I will see if I can use Photoshop's exposure control to create the differ exposure levels, but I know those imgs will be somewhat different than what the RAW file can produce. [​IMG]
     
  11. mrmacedonian

    mrmacedonian TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    That was my point, do not copy and paste them, use some form of Nikon software to transfer them to your computer. I shoot RAW + Large Fine JPEG and when they are transfered to my computer via Canon EOS Utility there are two files, same name, one .cr2 the other .jpeg.

    So if you are shooting in RAW + JPEG then you are creating two seperate files. One thing I just considered is when you were shooting.. You didn't by chance use Full Auto? I know that with my camera body, if you shoot Full Auto then the Camera automatically switches to JPEG only.. that may have been the case here.

    In any case, I'm kind of surprised more Nikon users haven't chimed in here since they actually go through this process..

    best of luck Lep
     
  12. Leprakawn

    Leprakawn TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Like you, on a tiny speck of dust floating in the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for your response, mrmacedonian, and I will take a look at their pdf to see if I can figure it out.

    Well, I used that ViewNX program last night, and that also transferred the JPG file. But I was able to enhance the quality a bit beforehand as well. I have not checked to see if it is any better than PS or Blowup yet, but those are my two other options. (I would lean more towards Blowup than PS.)

    Hey, and at least you put in your 02ยข, so I appreciate that!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does the nikon d60 shoot raw
,
how to shoot in raw with the d60
,
nikon d60 jpeg raw
,

nikon d60 raw jpeg

,
nikon d60 raw jpg
,
nikon d60 raw to jpeg
,
nikon raw jpeg basic
,
raw basic nikon
,
raw vs fine on the nikon d60
,
shooting in raw with nikon d60