Nikon D3000 vs Canon Rebel XSi ?

Zombie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm getting my first SLR camera in a couple of months but I'm not sure which one I should get. I don't have much cash to spend so I've narrowed the selection down to the Nikon D3000 or the Canon Rebel XSi. I perfer Nikons but I don't want to get a camera based on the brand name as the performance is the more important focus. I've read reviews on each camera and they both seem pretty great. I'm leaning more towards the Nikon because of the guide feature it has. But I like that the Canon has live view [the Nikon doesn't]. I'm pretty new to SLR cameras [but not to photography itself, i 've had a Nikon p80 and a canon powershot SD630 point & shoot cameras] So I don't know too much yet, but I plan on reasearching a lot.

I mainly shoot nature and animals, portraits, sometimes I shoot club type photos [love shooting someone doing lightshows/raving/poi], and concerts.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions/information on which camera would be better suited for me and the type of photos I take. & a very big thanks in Advance!

Avoid all the fanboi battles and simply do 2 things. Read reviews for both cameras, and see how each feels in your hands.

It'll be more about the person pressing the shutter than what name is printed on the camera. Each will deliver pictures well depending on the skill of the photographer.

i'm having the same problem as you ...what to choose??
i have found out that older cameras work better then the new ones
400D vs 450D, is it worth price differential: Canon EOS 1000D / 500D - 300D Forum: Digital Photography Review
Re: Looking to upgrade to DSLR - Considering Canon 450D vs NikonD40/D3000: Beginners Questions Forum: Digital Photography Review
Canon EOS 450D / Digital Rebel XSi Review: 32. Compared to (Higher ISO): Digital Photography Review
you should read this...