Nikon D3300 not letting me focus and recompose?

gayle23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi I have been trying to use the focus and recompose technique in single servo focus setting. I'm quite new to these focus modes. I press the shutter half way with the little red light focusing on what I want it to but whenever I recompose it doesn't lock that focus and what I want goes out of focus. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I'm frustrated as I've been missing lots of shots in auto focus mode. Thanks.

Do you have the button on back top right labeled AF-L/AE-L. If you press that it will Lock the Focus in that situation.
pg 74 & 82 on the AF-S Single Servo mode describes what you are doing
but page 81 describes the AF-L/AE-L button ... that button always works for me and I use it often for the scenario you describe.

Hi I have been trying to use the focus and recompose technique in single servo focus setting. I'm quite new to these focus modes. I press the shutter half way with the little red light focusing on what I want it to but whenever I recompose it doesn't lock that focus and what I want goes out of focus. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I'm frustrated as I've been missing lots of shots in auto focus mode. Thanks.
It might be just your finger. (BAD FINGER!) I think it takes some practice to be able to press half-way, and hold that without moving your finger, while at the same time moving the frame to where you want it.

First; check your settings. Make sure of the focus mode chosen. Set your shutter to "anytime" shutter release. Turn on the focus beep. Watch in the viewfinder for the green focus dot. Do some practice while just relaxing.

It might be just your finger. (BAD FINGER!) I think it takes some practice to be able to press half-way, and hold that without moving your finger, while at the same time moving the frame to where you want it.