nikon d40x or canon eos 450d?

dog1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
considering that i have no experience in photography, and the £200 difference in price (nikon around £400, canon around £600), what are your recommendations? what would you do if you were in my position?

If you go nikon go d40, its actually better than d40x.

is there anything in particular that makes the d40 a better camera than the d40x?

for a beginner, what would be the better buy? the 450d, or one of the nikkons?

would buying the less expensive nikkon body along with a better lens, rather than the canon eos 450d kit be advisable?

High ISO performance is one biggie. Also, I believe the D40 has a higher flash sync than the D40x (I think). May not seem like much, but it could be important down the road (it sure has been for me lately).

I'm a big Nikon fan. That said, I would choose the 450d over the D40/D40x. The D40 series lacks the ability to autofocus with quite a few lenses...(you need AFS or AIS lenses). A lot of the primes that are a lot of fun (and inexpensive) won't autofocus with the D40/x and D60.

However..... if you can afford a D80, then it is a great camera and I would choose it over the 450d.

is there anything in particular that makes the d40 a better camera than the d40x?

for a beginner, what would be the better buy? the 450d, or one of the nikkons?

would buying the less expensive nikkon body along with a better lens, rather than the canon eos 450d kit be advisable?

Well for starters, the Nikon D60 is the current entry level offering from Nikon and it's probably more fair for comparison. Many people don't like that the Nikon D40-D60 won't AF with all current lenses in the line up. I believe Nikon did this to cut down on size and cost of their cameras.