Nikon D5000 Auto ISO in M/A/S

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Lipoly, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. Lipoly

    Lipoly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I have a new Nikon D5000 and am really enjoying it. One issue I have is when I am in manual, aperature priority, or shutter priority, the option to set ISO to Auto is disabled. Is there no way to enable auto ISO in these modes?
     
  2. tirediron

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    37,358
    Likes Received:
    10,655
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Generally, new cameras come with manuals...
     
  3. mfer

    mfer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'll help. Here is a guide to the d5000 that you can search with...

    Nikon D5000 User's Guide

    You'll need to expose your full menu selection as well. That is on his website.

    Pretty good basic stuff, but (IMHO) don't get caught up in too much of the equipment he recommends. He is going after people who don't take photography too seriously, so keep that in mind if you read his stuff. His explanations of the settings are decent too. More simple really. He says that you shouldn't change some of them. Again that is for someone who doesn't want really good pics.
     
  4. Lipoly

    Lipoly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Thanks mfer, I have read the manual and ken's site. He gives some good tips, but sometimes says surprising things like ISO 3200 looks "great." At any rate, I know how to program the Auto ISO, the problem is that M/A/S will not go into auto ISO, only P (and full Auto of course).
     
  5. mfer

    mfer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hmmmmmmm. I'll have to look at my d40 tonight. I shoot in "A" pretty much all the time and I thought I was getting my auto ISO. Most of my pics are taken in ISO 200, but I do see a 100 pop in from time to time when I'm looking at them on my computer. I put my max ISO pretty low however (like 400). The d40 pretty much sucks at anything much higher.
     
  6. Alan92RTTT

    Alan92RTTT TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Madison Heights, Mi
    IIRC when in M/A/S the D5000 does not offer auto ISO its up to you at that point.
     
  7. Lipoly

    Lipoly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Thanks, it seemed that way but was hard to believe such a basic feature would be missing. Its not a huge deal since I'm mostly @ 200, but in indoor shots it would be helpful if it would bump it up a bit when needed.
     
  8. Alan92RTTT

    Alan92RTTT TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Madison Heights, Mi
    When you are shooting m/a/s you don't want the camera messing with your ISO.

    ISO needs to be fixed for you to make the correct decisions about your shutter or aperture.
     
  9. JG_Coleman

    JG_Coleman No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Wolcott, Connecticut, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd agree with Alan92... the ISO setting in these modes is just as important in composing your shot as aperture or shutter speed. Using auto-ISO in aperture-priority mode, for example, could potentially lead to accidents in which one forgets to properly adjust aperture and ends up with an outrageous ISO of 3200... barely a usable shot.

    For my own purposes, I almost always shoot outside with ISO at 100 or 200 for landscapes/florals, occasionally at 400 or 800 when shooting wildlife at dusk or in shadows.

    When I find myself indoors, I will usually just point my camera around for a moment and get an idea of the shutter speeds I can expect based on the apertures I'm interested in using... if they are too slow, I adjust the fixed ISO accordingly to compensate for the low light.

    For the most part, a single ISO setting should be able to handle most of the situations you encounter in a single indoor location. In the clutch, you can always adjust the fixed ISO on-the-fly using the manual menu in order to boost sensitivity for especially dark scenes or decrease sensitivity for areas with bright lights. Granted, navigating the manual menu can be rather slow, but one ISO setting will probably handle 85%-95% of your shooting situations in one particular venue.

    Now, if you still really, really want to have maximum flexibility over ISO on-the-fly, you can always program the function button to automatically jump to ISO. That way, you can hold down the function button and just rotate the thumb-wheel to change your fixed setting. This makes manually adjusting the fixed ISO very easy and very fast.
     
  10. KmH

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    38,229
    Likes Received:
    5,006
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    See your users manual, page 149:



     
  11. Lipoly

    Lipoly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Thank you very much, sorry I missed that in my manual (but glad you didn't :) )
     
  12. KmH

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    38,229
    Likes Received:
    5,006
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I should start doing seminars at $99 a head, instead of giving it away here on TPF. ;)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
auto iso nikon d5000
,
blinking iso a
,
d5000 auto iso
,
d5000 iso-a flashing
,
how to change iso in d5000
,

how to change iso on nikon d5000

,
nikon d5000 auto iso
,
nikon d5000 auto iso settings
,
nikon d5000 iso setting manual
,
removing auto iso on d5000 video