Nikon D60... now I need a lens.

mightee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to photography, but I am looking forward to learning. My problem is this:

I'm (obviously) working on a budget. I've decided on the Nikon D60 as my camera, but I need a decent (and cheap) wide-angle lens that will function nicely in low lighting conditions.

Any suggestions? Any help would be greatly appreciated. (Links would be nice, too.)

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to photography, but I am looking forward to learning. My problem is this:

I'm (obviously) working on a budget. I've decided on the Nikon D60 as my camera, but I need a decent (and cheap) wide-angle lens that will function nicely in low lighting conditions.

Any suggestions? Any help would be greatly appreciated. (Links would be nice, too.)

Here are a few good options-

50mm (not exactly "wide")

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-50mm-Nikkor-Digital-Cameras/dp/B00005LEN4/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1237257907&sr=8-1]Amazon.com: Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: Electronics[/ame]

17-55 (relatively wide and pretty pricey but also very fast [desirable for low light])

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-17-55mm-2-8G-ED-IF-Nikkor/dp/B000144I2Q/ref=sr_1_18?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1237257972&sr=8-18]Amazon.com: Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens: Electronics[/ame]

The kit lens that comes with the d60 is also pretty wide on the 18mm lens, however it is a relatively slow lens which is not desirable in low light. However, the d60 does handle pretty high ISO's well so the kit lens may work for you. How low light are we talking?

Sweet, quick first reply!

Yeah, $1,200 is way, way out of the price range.

What about the 18-55mm AF-S VR that comes with the kit? Is that even worth trying in low light?