Nikon D80? - Help please.

SILKA

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi i'm Silka.

I urgently need some advise on the Nikon D80 as i'm planning to flexi-rent one next weekend.

I'm not sure, i just need some pro's and con's because i don't want to get it then realise it's not the right camera for me.

I guess you could say i'm fairly new to photography (The practical side anyhow), although its always been a huge interest of mine.

At the moment i'm using the Kodak LS755, and i've had enough of its awful quality.

Some information on other excellent camera's would be highly appreciated!

i own a D80, and its an excellent camera.

even keeping in auto and just pointing and shooting you will get great images, but to be honest if your a beginner, you wont get the full benefit of a professional camera in just one weekend. i am a fast learner and i am still learning new tricks with the D80 all the time.

the other thing to mention is the lenses.... i dont know what you plan to shoot with it, but the lens is important. make sure when renting you take the right lens for you.

best camera choices are Nikon and Canon as far as lens choice and availability goes

if your planning on renting the D80 to see if you like it, before buying... good idea :)

A massive thumbs up from another D80 user! Ive not found any restrictions with it yet.

I don't plan on renting it just for the weekend.

I'm renting to buy it, which means i'll be paying it off over two years.

Having the D80 for just a single weekend would be almost pointless xD

I'm very much into landscape photography, so any tips on what lenses i would need would be appreciated once again.

Thanks for the information :)

Also! Whats the D80's optical zoom like?
Optical zoom is more important than megapixels, yes?
(I'm not planning to do large prints at this stage).

Also! Whats the D80's optical zoom like?
Optical zoom is more important than megapixels, yes?