Nikon D80?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by lisa_13, Apr 16, 2008.

1. lisa_13

lisa_13 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    im majoring in photography in college next year.
    went to ritz camera to get a camera reccomendation, the guy reccommended a nikon D80 and i have to say i am in LOVE with the thing.
    buuuuuuuut it's $1100 (i want the 55-135 lens) and i cant really afford that. i know i can get it cheaper at other places.

anyone have a place theyve bought at before for cheap and reccommend? i dont want to spend so much money if its a crap place that won't ship me my stuff.

also, anyone have the D80 and like it or hate it?

thanks!

2. kundalini

kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What's your budget?

You can get the body only from B&H for $730 and a 50mm f/1.8 for $110.

The D80 is a great camera and the 50mm will make you work to get the shots you want rather than relying on a zoom. Great combo. The best thing about the D80 is that (when you're ready) you will have the capability to go wireless off-camera flash straight out of the box with nothing else to buy (besides the flash - SB-600 or SB-800)

3. Antithesis

Antithesis No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Look into the used market, you can pick them up for much less than that. And I wouldn't recommend Ritz unless you have no other option.

4. bla

bla TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Personally... love my D80, its an amazing camera. But keep in mind that camera bodies go from top-of-the-line to "outdated" in a few years. Make your lens choice a higher priority. The D80 has some great features that make taking pictures a lot easier and more enjoyable. But it won't really make your pictures more gorgeous than a D40 would.