Nikon D800E vs D750 - Your thoughts

abhishek@1985

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

Am a newbie in digital photography and waiting to get hold on to my first digital camera. However, not quite as a newbie to photography . I have been shooting landscapes for the last 3 years with my trusty Hasselblad 500 cm ,Fuji 690 and sometimes pinhole cameras. So needless to say , I like big negatives and scan them pretty big to make big prints ..

However, I am a newbie when it comes to digital . So as of now, I have narrowed my choices to either used Nikon D800e or new D750 as I wanna spend bulk of the cash in buying a 16-35, 105 micro and 70-200mm ..

So, if my primary aim is landscapes with a little bit of wildlife included (I always wanted to do it but with film its crazyyyyyyyy) ... what would you choose ...

Regards,
Abhishek

I would very definitely choose the D800. IMO, the only real downside to the D800 is the comparitively small buffer which makes it a bit of a pain if you're doing work where you shoot a LOT. Definitely not the case in landscape work, and the ability to crop to a seemingly tiny piece of the file and still have a substantial image is one you will appreciate. Much like cropping a 4x5 negative!

Nikon D800, D800E and D810 are classic cameras for portrait and landscape, so while I am a D750 user and love this camera I think for your specific needs the D800E will be better.

I'm a d750 fan and use a d600. But if you're doing primarily landscape I'll 3rd the motion for the d800E.

Landscape is D800 or D810 ... if you can get a D810E really cheap, sure, but otherwise I wont really see the point, you spent a lot more and get so very little for it.

The D750 would be a great landscape camera, too, of course. Its just the D800/D810 is even better.