Nikon D90 Problem

JSEK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a newbie to the forum and will appreciate any help.

I have the Nikon D90 and have recently experienced a very odd problem. When I turn on the camera and do nothing else immediately after wards, the shutter freezes. The shutter can be pressed but with no reaction from the camera. I do not get an "Err" message on the top LCD. Also none of the buttons on the camera work.

I have to turn off the camera and turn it back on in order for the camera to function properly.

However if I turn on the camera and immediately (w/in a second or 2) begin to press the shutter or use any of the buttons on the body the camera will function as usual. Also the camera sometimes freezes if at some point I stop pressing any of the buttons or shutter.

Do I have a defective camera?

I welcome any comments or advice you may have and thanks in advance for your help.

I had a similar problem with my D90 while using a Sigma 70-200 2.8 lens. I returned the lens and have never had the problem again. So...has this happened with all of your lenses?

I have the D90. Use all lenses listed in my signature as well as the Sigma and Tamron 70-200 lenses with no issues at all. Im not sure what your problem could be. I dont see why the lens would effect the menus simply working though..

Mark

My issue with D90 was at any shutter speed and iso at f/16 or above it was giving me an ERR. Same was with different lenses.
Nikon fixed it free of charge - replaced aperture mechanism.
Call them up 1-800-645-6678, their tech support isn't bad, at least I didn't have any problems troubleshooting over the phone. If you live in NYC or around the area they have a corporate office in Long Island - i took a drive out there - lovely place :drool:

happened to me when I first purchased it, but then just went away with the camera being used/broken in.