Nikon D90 Setup

Conker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I work as a camp counsellor, and do alot of outdoor and sports shooting. I'm looking for a good setup, to make things easy, and quick for all around shooting, and everything in between. I'm looking at getting:
- Nikon AF-S Dx Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
- Nikon AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
- SB-900 Speedlight
- Nikon AF-S 70-300 f/4-5.6G VR
- Nikon Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
- Nikon AF-S 85mm f/3.5 IF ED VR ll Dx Mircro Nikkor
- Nikon AF 80-200mm f/2.8D ED Macro telephoto
- Sigma AF 150-500mm f/5.0-6.3 APO DG HSM OS zoom (Nikon)
- Kata Bags HB-207 GDC Hiker Backpack
- Gary Fong Puffer pop-up flash difusser
- Gary Fong Lightsphere universal starter kit
- Nikon SD-9 high performance battery pack for SB-900
- Nikon SJ-3 Colour filter set for SB-900
- Manfrotto 785K Modo Maxi Tripod w/785 bay
- Panasonic 16GB SDHC Video Card 22 MB/sec (Class 10)
- Nikon En-EL3e Battery

Any input you guys have would be great. I'm relatively new to the art of photography, bought a D90 during June of this summer, and I am totally loving it. I am planning on getting serious in the sport quite soon, but I always like to ask around opinions to see what the pros think.

Thanks guys,
Conker

That is quite a list. Nothing too exciting on here except for the 80-200 2.8 Nikon. I rented this one. Loved it. I've heard the 150-500 is a POS. The 70-300 is alright but you won't need it if you get the 80-200. The gary fong pop up diffuser is good too.

Start focusing on taking pictures, and not gear. I know it's hard but you need to get some skill and understanding before you start buying ANY gear.

Understanding exposure is a good book.