Nikon F80

cherrypink

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am thinking about upgrading my litte Nikon F55 to the F80. Can anyone tell me about the finer qualities of this camera? Is it worth upgrading to? Is it easy to use? etc. Thanks!

I’ve been using an F80 for nearly three years now and have been very impressed with both the quality and handling. I bought it with a 28 – 105mm lens to replace an old (mainly 25+ years old) Minolta SLR system that had finally worn out.
The F80 has just about all the features I was after – an accurate meter, range of exposure modes including manual, fast and accurate autofocus (one of the reasons for changing was that as well as the cameras, my eyes were also more than 25 years older than when I started with the Minolta and I was starting to have difficulty focussing accurately with a manual system), and a depth of field preview button. The only thing really missing was a mirror lock-up facility.
The autofocus system is usually very good ; the only time it’s not coped very well has been in extreme low light conditions, then it’s back to manual focus mode and trusting the old eyes. The metering is also excellent; usually I just leave it in matrix mode but I have used the spot mode from time to time.
The built-in flash is reasonable for adding a bit of fill-in but for any “serious” flash work I use either an old hammerhead model with a guide number of 40 (m) or, more recently, a Metz 54MZ-3 which gives a high degree of control and automation. The Metz is more or less equivalent to a Nikon SB28 with just about the same range of features. Flash sync speed for the F80 is 1/125 sec which is not wonderful but quite adequate for most purposes. There are several flash modes, front and rear curtain sync, red-eye reduction, slow sync etc.
The camera can be used in continuous mode at 2.5 frames per second; there have been times when I would prefer something a bit faster but this is very low down on my list of priorities.