Nikon flash question

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by DocFrankenstein, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    Some nikon lenses report the distance information back to the camera.

    If you have the distance and the aperture, you don't need to have a TTL flash metering. You already know how much light is needed for proper exposure. (You know the ISO too)

    Question:
    Do any of the nikon flash/body combinations have a mode that does exactly what I'm describing?

    Thanks
     
  2. fmw

    fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    137
    No, the distance feature doesn't create an exposure mode by itself, it simply provides more information for the computer to use in all the auto exposure modes.

    In my experience the TTL mode makes the most accurate exposures and the straight auto mode is in second place with me in manual mode in a distant third - particularly with fill flash which the camera does masterfully.
     
  3. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's too bad IMO

    Canon doesn't have this feature either. I wonder why.
     
  4. fmw

    fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    137
    Why is it too bad? What is that TTL flash doesn't do that you think some other electronic automation would do?
     
  5. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ideally, you'd be able to achieve perfect exposures of your in focus subject ALL the time no matter what the reflectance is.

    Fill would be REALLY easy - you'd just have to dial a minus 2 in the FEC
     

Share This Page