Nikon Glass

catweh00

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am considering buying a new 70-300mm or longer lens for animal shots (at the cincy zoo). I was wondering if anyone thought it was worth it to pay $300 for nikon's ED glass versus $100 for the normal nikon 70-300 and other brands, which are even less expensive. I think sigma had a great 70-300 macro APO for 190.00. Let me know what you think.
Thanks
Craig
Remember, I am a beginner, not a pro, and my prints are usually 11x 14.

Also, would a 300mm prime be worth it? If I am shooting during the day, will I need a fast prime lens, or do you all typically use zoom lenses midday/early morning?
Thanks again,
Craig

Go for the Nikkor ED, it is not that expensive and if you want nice sharp shots it is your best bet for that price. I tried the Sigma at work and it was not sharp at the 300mm end and also had Vignetting (sp) . The Nikkor G lens feels very cheap and light and does not have ED glass.

You can cry once and spend a little more or cry twice when you go to replace the cheap lens from poor image quality.

Just my 2 Can cents,

Eric

Four of a kind.

While the ED lens is not the best a 300mm, it is way better then that empty soda can G lens. The G lens is basically a kit lens for the N75 camera kit.

Personally I like the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF. It is quite a bit more money but it way sharper and faster then any of the cheap 70-300mm. If your shooting at the zoo then you will be fairly close to the animals so 200mm may be good enough. But you may need the extra speed of a f/2.8 lens in order to get that action shot. Plus you can use a teleconveter to get out to 400mm at f/5.6, which is the same f stop as the 70-300mm lens at only 300mm.

Just so you know I own both the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED-IF and the 70-300mm f/3.5-5.6D ED lenses. I am not giving a biased opinion on either lens. I use both regularly.

Just my Two Bits!

K

I shoot canon, so didn't have the actual experience with the Nikon glass...