Nikon Lens or Tamron/Sigma etc? Worth the money?

RutsCameras

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I am looking for a good walking lens for my Nikon D60. Unfortunately I don't have a lot of money to spend but I also don't want to get a lens that isn't very good.

Is the Nikon 18-200mm VR lens worth the money?

Am I better off saving the money and grabbing a similar range Sigma or Tamron lens? Do you recommend any other brands?

I am not a professional as you can probably tell by my question so I am not sure if I would notice the difference between the results of the different lenses.

What do you think?

Thanks!

What is your price range?

The best walking around lens I have is the Sigma 18-50mm EX DG Macro II 2.8. I think it was about $400.

But I've heard good things about the Nikon you are looking at. Nikon glass is Nikon glass. You'll need lots of ambient light, however.

Thanks for responding Lucky!

I don't really have a price range set right now. The way I look at it is if the Nikon 18-200mm lens is a much better option than I would hold off until I had the money for it and buy it.

If there isn't a noticeable difference to a beginner photographer(although really enjoying it and getting more and more into it) than it would make more sense to buy one of the cheaper lenses.

I currently use the 2 kit lenses that came with the D60 (18-55mm & 55-200mm). I would like to get one lens that covers the entire range for when I am in situations when I don't want to carry more equipment.

I've had 2 Nikon 18-200 lenses and although they are nice, they both had 'lens creep' which is annoying. I tried a Nikon 70-300 VR and it was great, but I missed the wide range.

I took a chance and went with a Sigma 18-250 and never looked back, to me - it's the ultimate walk around lens.