Nikon lenses zoom clockwise?

JayM916

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new here and am glad to be a part of this community. It looks like there are a lot of helpful people here and it looks like a great place to learn a lot from each other. I have a question. I would really appreciate it if anybody out there can help me..
I have been a photographer for a long time and a user of Canon cameras and lenses. I've recently decided to purchase a new camera, and am ready to make the switch to Nikon. I've read countless reviews boasting your Nikon over Canon. I am very interested in the new D80. I stopped in Circuit City yesterday to see this baby in person and to get a hands-on feel for it. I really love the camera itself, but noticed a problem I ran into when using the zoom lense. I tried zoominig into an object with the lense, and this is when I ran into a little bit of a problem. I tried zooming the same way I've been doing for years, by turning the lense counter-clockwise, while looking threw the viewfinder. Instead of the camera zooming in, it zoomed out. Every camera and lense I've ever used (which is made up of primarily Canon brand), I've always turned it counter-clockwise to zoome in, and clockwise to zoom out. This operation of Nikon's lenses feels very awkward and unnatural to me. I am really dead-set on buying the new D80, but I'm hesitating because of this issue with their lenses. Does anybody know if there are any lenses out there for Nikon that zoom in "counter-clockwise", or are they all the same? Is there another manufacturer who makes lenses that would fit Nikon? I tried asking the Circuit City sales people, but they had no clue.

Thank you everyone!

- Jay