Nikon SB600 remote trigger?...

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Arch, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    ok so although im a huge fan of natural light and landscape photog i have an increasing number of people asking for ports, band pics etc... so im going to get an SB600 flash. I dont want to spend the money on the SB800 as i will really only ever use it now and then and i'd rather be spending money on wider lenses.

    However the site im buying off only has a cable for the SB800 to be used remotely.... and im not sure there even is one to connect my D50 to the SB600 remotely.

    Iv have seen the link to this gadget on ebay....

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360022860137&ssPageName=MERCOSI_VI_ROSI_PR4_PCN_BIX_Stores&refitem=180204334903&itemcount=4&refwidgetloc=closed_view_item&refwidgettype=osi_widget

    Is this any good?.... will it work ok?.... or is there any other alternatives to off shoe triggers with my set up?

    Thanks.
     
  2. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Arch....I've got the D70 and the SB800, The flash worked remotely with the Nikon wireless little button which sell for about $16.00.
    I'm not sure about the D50, but you might check this remote out.
    You might also reconsider the SB800 as well.
     
  3. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've got one of those. It work well enough, but not with my Canon flash unit. It might be better with your Nikon.

    It's a neat gadget, especially for the price but I've found that it's not all that reliable. If I were to use off camera flash for a paying gig...I'd probably spend some more money and get Pocket Wizards or something like that.

    Keep in mind that with these radio triggers, your flash metering will have to be manual.
     
  4. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks guys, yea i think i'll just try one of those ebay things and see how i get on... i cant seem to find any other kind of cable or anything, so it will have to do.
     
  5. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Does the SB-600 have a PC Sync terminal? I think it does IIRC. You can get a flash hotshoe to PC-Sync adapter for your D50 too.
     
  6. Offbeat

    Offbeat TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    SB600 doesnt have a sync terminal.

    Ive got one of those ebay triggers and it seems to work very well. Hardly miss fires and doesnt randomly go off either. Has a fairly decent range and works through walls, well thin ones anyway. Well worth the money until you upgrade if your going to. BTW i have a D50 and SB600 as well.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
flash trigger for nikon sb-600
,
flash triggers for sb600 and xpro1
,
how to set up d600 for a remote trigger
,
nikon sb 800 remote trigger
,
nikon sb600 remote trigger
,
remote trigger sb600
,
sb 600 remote
,

sb600 remote trigger

,
wireless flash trigger for nikon sb 600
,
wireless trigger for nikon