Nikon: What lens work on what?

shootermcgee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys, I have some knowledge on sensor sizes but I couldn't see anywhere about swapping lenses from DX to FX and vice-versa.

Okay I have had some varying advice. First off I was told that any lens would work on my D3100 but lately I had a salesman telling me that fx lenses won't work on a DX body. I was asking about a 12-24mm nikon lens and he said it wouldn't work as it would hit the sensor if I tried to install it. So my first question is; Will a fx lens work on a DX body?

Also he said that the DX lenses won't work on the FX bodies. Is this true? I see the new D800 will allow DX lenses but will only be able to be used at 15.4MP and will be at 1.5 times crop. So it defeats the purpose of the D800. So what about the other full frames, is it the same outcome?

You can use any Nikon F-Mount lens safely on any Nikon camera. Any FX lens will work fine on a DX body. Any DX lens will technically work on an FX body, but it will vignette horribly in most cases.

see here dx on a fx (film camera):

Feed Me by bhop, on Flickr

Actually.. I take that back, that's just for film cameras...

dslrs recognize the dx format, so, as far as the DX on the d800, d3, d4, and d700, yes, it will be at a lower mp level, and yes that does defeat the purpose of a full frame sensor IMO, although on the D800 dx at 15mp seems like it'd be perfectly useable.

You also don't want to touch non-AI lens if your going to get older lens, AI, AI-S, and AF lens are the lens you want. If you try to install a Non-AI lens it can damage your camera or get stuck permanently. There are some cases where they will work on your D3100, so check your camera's manual as it has all the lens that will work on it.

FX lenses work on most NIkon cameras. For the complete chart of Nikon Lens Compatibility, please see Ken Rockwell's excellent and comprehensive chart here:Nikon Lens Compatibility