Nikon's CLS Problem

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by BoxPhotographer, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. BoxPhotographer
    Offline

    BoxPhotographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I'm trying to use my SB-600 wirelessly but the pop up flash still fires. In the menu I have something like

    "Pop up flash: - -" which I though it would have meant that the pop up flash would be off and wouldn't fire.


    How do I fix this problem?
  2. IgsEMT
    Offline

    IgsEMT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    NYC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Pop-up flash supposed to fire - it sends out a signal as a MASTER to your SB600, a slave, to fire. It doesn't contribute to exposure though.
  3. Captain IK
    Offline

    Captain IK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, ON. Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    On the D90 there is a setting under the flash menu to adjust the pop up flash.
    IgsEMT is right. The pop up does control the slave so it needs to fire, but you should be able to control whether or not you want it to contribute to the exposure or not.
    I use the CLS system all the time with 2 off camera SB-600's. It works very well.
  4. Shockey
    Offline

    Shockey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise Idaho
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Commander mode.
  5. JAFO28
    Offline

    JAFO28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hi, try taking a picture with the pop up flash when you have it in commander mode. On the d90 under the commander mode menu you set the built in flash to --. When you take the pic you will see it doesn't contribute to exposure like IgsEMT and Capt. said.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
d80 cls not working
,
nikon cls not firing
,

nikon cls problems

,
nikon d80 cls not triggering
,
nikon d80 cls not working
,
nikon d80 problems firing
,
problems nikon cls