NJ Bear hunt, VERY controversial

Discussion in 'Off Topic Chat' started by Rapala46, Dec 7, 2005.

1. Rapala46

Rapala46 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Here we go everyone. I am a NJ resident, and I am also an avid hunter, and fisherman. So, if anyone has heard about the recent bear hunt in NJ, what are your thoughts? This is the second one if 35 years (i think) and it is raising voices everywhere. As you could probably guess, I am on the hunters side. Why would NJFGW have a bear hunt, if it were to hurt anything.

What really really gets me, are these....erhm...(i'll keep it civil), these "animal right's activists" that actually follow hunters into the woods, wearing BRIGHT orange T-shirts reading "Wounded Bear Rescue Squad". They also carried in first aid kits, saying that smaller hunters could be using smaller caliber firearms, therefore making it a bigger chance to wound bears. Well, if they had done their research they would know that everyone is using the SAME caliber shotguns. 20 guage and 12 guage. erg. They also said that if they were to find a bear, an animal contorl officer would be called in so that the bear could be healed, and rereleased.

sorry for the rant, what are your opinions?

here's some lniks for research if anyone is interested:

http://www.dailyrecord.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20051207/NEWS01/512070322/1005

and the other side

http://www.hsus.org/press_and_publi...calls_for_immediate_halt_to_nj_bear_hunt.html

2. PlasticSpanner

PlasticSpanner TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    This won't last long!:lmao: :popcorn:

3. LittleMan

LittleMan TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    If they can kill that many bears then there is an overpopulation of them. I don't think that people should "let them be" they become a hazard and they will run out of food eventually.(then become aggressive towards the people)

Or they will become malnourished and die anyways putting the bear to waste.