No call, no show

kdthomas

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So ... I have a shoot set up for two models, A and B, on 9/17. This is a paid commercial art shoot, clothes on, G-Rated. Both models new to me, I'm new to them.
  • I send a booking email 8/28 confirming the date, time, and address.
  • On 8/30 I send a follow-up email confirming the shoot date.
    • Model A responds on 8/31: Yes, we are good.
    • Model B responds on 8/30 (and I quote): "Yes, I have you confirmed for that date."
  • Day of the shoot arrives, shoot is at 1pm
    • Model A calls at 11 am and confirms, the door bell rings at 12:55. Model A is prepared and ready for work
    • Model B does not call, does not show. I try to Facebook message, but no response. NOTE: I later realized she had sent me her number, but did not notice it in her email.
  • We muddle through and I get a few art shots with Model A
Two days later I email Model B and try to find out what happened. Are you okay? Did I offend you in some way?

Model B's response is that s(he) is very very busy with school and work and all kinds of modeling gigs, and that since s(he) did not get a phone call within 48 hrs of the shoot, s(he) assumed there would not be one.

I am never at any point made aware of any you-gotta-call-2-days-before rule of this model's

Bottom line:

I have a hard time believing this is my fault. Have you ever dealt with anyone who because they didn't get a confirmation call 2 days prior, just assumes that everything's been called off? Is that really a thing?

I try and make it a habit to call and confirm 2-3 days ahead with new clients, but if someone is billing themselves as a professional and tells me that they have confirmed the date, I'd take that as good enough. Could you have done more? Sure. Were you obligated to? I don't think so.