Noob alert! Just saying hi and sharing some shots...

dreyko

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey guys,
im somewhat new to photography but im in love with it, i currently use 2 35mm 1980's slr cameras.
to start off i'd like to get some opinions on a few shots. thes ones were done with my mothers cheap digital camera...
739c6567-1.jpg

3ee4017e.jpg

c14d8194.jpg

4e37a604.jpg

roses-softlight.jpg

as you can see i like vechicular photography, but i also have scores of photos on other subject matter and once i get them scanned in i will post those too.
thanks and let me know what you think and how i can improve my work.

is this in the wrong area? also what would be a good digital camera for around 200 at least 6mp and prefferably the same adjustment style as a film slr? by that i mean apature on the lense and f-stop on the body, as oppose to miles of menus to hunt through

I really like your last photo. Has a real romantic feel to it! Welcome to TPF!!!!!

For 200$ US, you'll be very hard pressed to find a digital SLR, which is, in my opinion, what you should be getting if you are thinking of getting serious in photography. I don't know what used digital SLRs are going for now, but I doubt they go below 350$. You may be able to find a point-and-shoot with some control over aperture and film speed for that price, but the abilities of a point-and-shoot are no where near those of a digital SLR.

My advice to you is that if you already have two 35mm film SLRs, and if you have good lenses, then work with those until you'll be able to afford an entry level dSLR, which would cost somewhere around 400$ to 500$. Many good photographers work with 35mm SLRs their entire lives and come up with photographs that more than rival any taken with a dSLR.

Feel free to post here, but if you want more comments and more critiques, think about posting in one of the gallery subforums.

Heya dreyko, and welcome to ThePhotoForum.