Noob question re. printing B&W.

Don Simon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I seem to be having a noob moment here... it's been a while since I printed anything in black & white on my own printer, since I've generally preferred to get prints done from b&w in the darkroom where possible. But since I got myself a good printer a while back (Canon ip4000) I felt I should get some use out of it apart from standard text and the occasional colour print. So I took a colour image, converted it to b&w in PS Elements using channel mixer, set PS colour management to 'Full' and set RGB profile to Adobe RGB ( 1998 ), and printed. Problem is, the image didn't come out black and white, but black white and green - the whole thing has a green cast to it.

I feel certain this is a complete noob error I'm making, but can't think of what it is. I got slightly different results from changing the colour management settings in Elements' print preview (from 'Same as Source' to 'Working RGB - Adobe RGB ( 1998 ), and by changing the colour adjustment settings in the final print dialog from 'manual' (CYMB all at 0) to 'auto'. But always the greenish print. Any thoughts on this? Thanks in advance.

Edit: I just tried printing after selecting Grayscale in the print dialog, which I'd originally wanted to avoid since it's for printing colour images in b&w and therefore is presumably the same as desaturating, and if I'd wanted to simply do that then I wouldn't have bothered using channel mixer. Anyway with the Grayscale box ticked the print is... less green, and now slightly brown as well. This now has me really stumped. If I've selected grayscale and it's still printing green/brown, does that mean it's not a software issue at all and that there's something wrong with my black cartridge or printer? It prints text in black, not dark green... this is very odd.