Noob with a new Flash

chrisburke

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.chrisburke.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I popped into a pawn shop today and picked up an external flash, nothing fancy, an Image TFD-45.

Because I'm a noob, I really dont know what all the buttons on the back mean. I did a google search, trying to find a manual, but no success.

On the back I have the following:

ISO-1000 400 200 100 50 25

Below that there is a switch that says W S (i can select one of the other. then we have the on button, and the test button. then at the bottom

M TTL

and on the front another switch where i can select rither M a blue dot or a red dot.

If someone could tell me what all these buttons mean and do that would be great

Well that info seems to be well hidden.

Likely if you set the flash to m then the iso setting would be a control for the flash output. How are you triggering this? I don't know how much voltage a D40 will take but do be careful.

mike

It's in your manual somewhere. Or you can call 1-800-Nikonus -just ask them what the max voltage is for your camera and don't say anything about the flash. First they wouldn't know and second if they say anything that implies that they will extend the warranty to the usage of the item-and they wont.

And yes you could conceivably fry your camera. My D200 will handle 250 volts but I don't know about the D40. There are limiters -Weinscott (sp?)- that will go between the flash and your camera. I don't remember seeing a PC terminal on the 40 so you may have to get a hot shoe to PC adapter. If so you might look for one that has a safety built in.

There is so little information on this flash that I am thinking that it is rebranded and really something else. Can you post a photo of it in case someone might recognize it?

mike

Here's the Flash

537908845_31241c7bf6.jpg

537909327_95883e5210.jpg

I popped into a pawn shop today and picked up an external flash, nothing fancy, an Image TFD-45.