[[ Noobie questions! ]]

Noonz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just a couple of questions i have in regards to a few things i don't have very much experience/knowledge about

1. Flash: I have never used a speedlight before so i need a little guidance as to what i should be buying. I have a Nikon D90 and im looking at the SB-600 and the SB-900. Price isn't really an issue but i don't want to just get the more expensive flash.. just because i can. Other than the difference in size, what does the 900 have that the 600 doesn't (I have read up on these both and compared, but not having the experience of a flash disadvantages me of understanding them). I'll be using the flash for things such as birthdays, weddings, portraits and landscapes (a mix of everything really) Also, to operate the flash off of the camera, do i need a wireless remote? What are those wireless things called that you attach to a softbox and the hot shoe of your camera?

2. Lens: I would like to buy a new lens soon. Not looking for too much zoom or anything like that.. just something i can use for parties/weddings and what not. I own a 18-55mm, 55-200mm and a 50mm 1.8 - they do their job but i need one lens that covers a larger focal length and at the same time is still quality. Any suggestions would be great.

Extremely sorry for the ignorance, and i appreciate anyone who takes the time to answer these.

Thanks in advance.

Flashes: IMO, the only Nikon flash that I would get right now is the SB-600; if you can find a used SB-800, GRAB IT!! The '900 has over-heating issues, and the '700 is still a bit of an unknown entity, but the reviews I have heard aren't stellar.