Not sure if this pic required a release..

ella5471

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, so I took this pic a while ago on a public beach, we were all about to leave so I decided to get one last shot. And it was one of the best pics of the day. The problem is someone happened to be sitting in the lower right that I did not know; and they even make the pic better. I would crop them out to negate this being an issue, but if I do that the framing will be practically ruined. So, I want to know if I even need to be worrying about this at all. As it was in a public place. Btw I'm new to this I'm sure its obvious to some.

Thanks, Ella.

Attachments

• SAM_0647_resized.jpg
    SAM_0647_resized.jpg
    828.5 KB · Views: 254
Without knowing where in the world you are, no one can say for sure, but if you're in Canada or the US, then almost certainly not unless you're considering this for commercial use. What the image does need however is to be levelled; the ocean is running out of the LH side and all over my desk! ;)

Alright thanks (and yes the US) And yea I know I'm actually getting some practice with photoshop at the moment for just that sort of thing. XD

If the person is recognisable you need a release if you are going to sell the photo for commercial use. I don't think this person is.
Check out this page (a stock photo website) Property And Model Releases Explained | Alamy then Google the subject for more info. :)

Depends on how you intend to use the photo.

A release is usually needed for commercial use (advertising etc.) and retail use (selling merchandise with the image on it). It's not usually needed to sell it as a fine art print. It's not usually required for editorial use (newspaper etc.) but might be requested in some cases (such as if the media outlet has not worked with the photographer before).