Novice requesting helpful advice for product photography :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ninjab

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, I bought a 60D not long ago and am trying to do product photos. Unfortunately for me was I silly enough to think it was going to be that easy just because I bought a decent camera. I have been studying over the last few days lighting with product photography and the videos on profoto life were quite informative.

So my first step was to try and get crisp clear pictures coming from my 60D and then work on the lighting but cannot seem to get crisp sharp clear pictures. I am a novice on SLR but am working in manual mode but still struggling for crisp pictures so I can then work on lighting (as I need to buy equipment).

The settings I was using last night was in manual mode 100 ISO, 250 shutter, f/30 but no luck. I had fiddled with the ISO and aperture but results didnt vary so much. Also using the inbuilt flash, two fluro lights but the photos seem over contrasted, but as expected due to improper lighting setup but as mentioned above I am trying to get them to look sharp and detailed first.

So I am trying to work out what exactly I am doing wrong, or am I thinking that maybe they should be sharper than I think they should be? I figured if using a high aperture like f/30 most of the focused image should not be blurred at all but the prodict I am practicing on (a mouse) seems to have some blurr on the outer end of the mouse.

As I said I am a novice so feel free to have a crack at me :lol:

I know to get my product photos looking good I need to have good lighting setup, so any recommendations on what i should buy would be great. I see those softbox kits but am a bit weary on them.

Thanks a lot ;)