Off Camera Flash

Dionysus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Is there anything that can make it so the new flash i bought (canon speedlight 430 ex II) can be used off camera? wireless preferrably, but if its wired, if theres anything w/ a really long cord? seems like by reading the manual that my only option it to buy another ex flash, and running it as a slave to the main flash.

i'm a lighting ultra noob, so dont know what my options are.

3ft cord? man..thats rediculously short :p

Longer than that and I believe you must go wireless.

I think Canon offers a longer cord than the 3' version, but it's ridiculously expensive.

Besides a higher end EOS flash, Canon has a remote trigger unit. It used to be the ST-E2, but there may be a newer model?

The above options allow ETTL. There are lot's of other options that would require setting flash power manually.

There are all sorts of cheap flash shoe adapters and sync cords available.

Optical slaves.

Radio slaves: some of the newer models offer ETTL, some don't.

Check out strobist.com for lots of info.

I have a 420EX, and I just ordered the Gadget Infinity Cactus Wireless Flash Triggers (radio triggers). I haven't used them yet, but they talk about them on strobist.com (if you haven't looked at that site yet, check it out). Strobist 101 gives you a good idea for a simple setup to use off camera flash.

Is there anything that can make it so the new flash i bought (canon speedlight 430 ex II) can be used off camera? wireless preferrably, but if its wired, if theres anything w/ a really long cord? seems like by reading the manual that my only option it to buy another ex flash, and running it as a slave to the main flash.

i'm a lighting ultra noob, so dont know what my options are.

Cheap and unreliable
http://www.mpex.com/browse.cfm/4,514.htm

good for a beginner though.