Offering a volume discount??

d70girl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
A customer of mine keeps asking me if I offer a volume discount. Thing is, I am not that good at the business aspect of this to begin with, and I'm just starting out so I REALLY have NO idea what to offer.

Any ideas?

What does volume mean(as in how many constitutes volume)? What kind of photos? Is this for the same shot, or is this just alot of different jobs for the same person?

She's about to place an order for prints of a portrait session with her daughter, and she has me thinking it's going to be a pretty big order. She's asked about a volume discount, and I'm trying to come up with something for her so she doesn't think I'm a total snob. :er:

Here's a link to the gallery from her session, if it helps. She has 30 or so proofs to choose from... and I'm hoping that she and I define "big order" the same way. :D

http://imagesbyalicia.net/longgallery/viewer.swf

I guess it depends on how you structure your price. Was there a significant up-front sitting fee? Or do you plan to make the bulk of the revenue from print sales?

Where & how do you have your prints made? If your supplier offers a 'volume discount'...then you can use that as a benchmark for your volume discount. If your price for prints does not change...then tell her that...and don't give a discount. On the other hand, a small discount may go along way with word of mouth advertising.

Big Mike said:
I guess it depends on how you structure your price. Was there a significant up-front sitting fee? Or do you plan to make the bulk of the revenue from print sales?

Where & how do you have your prints made? If your supplier offers a 'volume discount'...then you can use that as a benchmark for your volume discount. If your price for prints does not change...then tell her that...and don't give a discount. On the other hand, a small discount may go along way with word of mouth advertising.