Oh no, not a C&C thread!

Turbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I made the jump from P&S cameras last week. I've been struggling to find things worth shooting here in south-central Wisconsin...I try to get at least one shot a day whether I feel like shooting or not. C&C please.

Here's two versions of essentially the same shot. I'm not sure which is better...I don't know if the vapor trail in one adds to it or detracts.

Without:
MarshallSunset723001.jpg

With:
MarshallSunset723002.jpg

Same body of water a little later the same evening:
Reflections.jpg

Earlier in the day, 180 degrees from where I shot the water at sunset. More of a snapshot I guess.
MarshallRainbow723.jpg

Another snapshot on the way to work:
Rays00001.jpg

Taken while wandering around in an antique shop:
Violin.jpg

Don't be gentle. I'm new to RAW, so any advice is welcome.

Have you already processed them other than adding the border?

I think the last one is by far the best. I love it. Its a shame about the dust on the bottom of it though. The one before it I also think was very nice.

Mark

Agreed. Probably couldnt with the dim lighting conditions shops usually have. It would have been nice though.

Mark

question - the first 2 shots... the sky has these radiant lines in it... is that part of the picture or is my screen funny?

fwiw i don't like the vapor trail

Are they for the first few inches above the right of the water? If so, I think theyre just clouds. Other than that, I dont see any lines.

Mark

question - the first 2 shots... the sky has these radiant lines in it... is that part of the picture or is my screen funny?

fwiw i don't like the vapor trail
I think it's your screen being funny. I've looked at it on 3 different screens, and I'm not seeing it. I think the problem with the vapor trail is that it breaks up the color of the sunset and isn't leading the eye where it should be.