Ok, a bit confused here... Come on in Canon and Nikon folk...

Dominantly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Pull up a chair.:lol:

OK, so the only Canon I have ever owned (and still do) is the S5 IS. It's a great little camera, the macro work it can do makes it well worth the price all by itself. When I graduated up to a DSLR, I went Nikon. I personally enjoy the feel of them, and the cameras controls just feel more intuitive to me. I am currently shooting with a Nikon D90.

Now that I got that out of the way, the reason I am posting is because this afternoon I went to Best Buy and while I was there I picked up the Canon 50D that was on display, and I took a few shots.:meh: First thing I noticed was the color reproduction on the LCD display. The shots looked pretty damn good. I took various shots and was pretty amazed at the color and clarity I was seeing in camera. I will say though, while the colors look good, the camera reaffirmed my original dislike of the controls/layout.

NOW, it just so happened there was a D90 right next to it, I put down the 50D and took some shots of the same objects with the D90, and while it looked good, it just didn't have the same pop on the LCD.

Both were being shot wide open in Aperture Priority.

Now for the discussion, is it true (because I just did some reading) that Canon's are known for great reproduction of colors?
Anyone else experience something like this?

It's just the JPG preview, you can tweak all that in camera if you wish. Boost saturation, sharpness, contrast, etc.

LCD color rendering is not what counts. Not sure if you had a chance to see this thread http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...-should-i-get-nikon-d3s-canon-1d-mark-iv.html

that had a head-to-head comparison of two cameras, a Nikon D3s and the Canon 1D Mark IV; both cameras were shot in JPEG mode, at factory default color settings, and used indoors under lower light levels.