Old New Shooter

OldManJim

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, all

I'm retired and decided to get back into photography. I started shooting as an amateur in 1958, and have been shooting with film - later digital - ever since.

Recently, I cleaned out my storage area and "found" a Mamiya RB with lenses that was in pretty good shape. Trouble is, it's too big to drag around to shoot landscapes.

My son is now using it and I traded an old Toyo 4X5 view camera for a Mamiya 645 pro tl with 80 and 45 mm lenses. That's a lot easier to carry!

My interest is landscapes and I've been playing around with some local scenes. I've also resurrected a Jobo processor and have been "souping" my 120 b&w film.

I want to start shooting E-6 and processing it at home with a view to making prints using an Epson V600 scanner. Still need ot get a good printer, though.

Looking for any and all comments and suggestions on improvements - I figure if I only manage to live about another 150 years, I'll know it all! 645b&w002.jpg

Welcome to TPF.

Comments and suggestions -- seriously, bypass the jobo and the soup (especially the very toxic E6 soup) and the V600 and get a modern digital camera at 1/2 the size and weight of the 645 and a Canon inkjet printer and start making prints. Are you going through all that processing rigmarole because you enjoy it? If not then why. I'm old and retired too and I appreciate a small, light camera and the ability to take a photo and make a print all in a few minutes.

Joe

Thanks, Joe. Actually, I have 3 digital Nikons, a D200, a Coolpix, and a D3200. They're fine but I really enjoy looking at images where I can control the exposure, the processing, and the printing. Before retirement, I was a chemist, so the E-6 stuff doesn't scare me; I know how to handle it correctly.