Older model dslr vs. newer p&s's

cbryk0718

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm trying to decide which way to go. I was offered some used cameras after posting on craigslist for really good prices:

Olympus E-20 for $175
http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/...id=714&fl=4

Kodak Easyshare Z740 for $175
http://www.kodak.com/eknec/PageQuerier.jht...pq-locale=en_US

or should I go with a new camera like the Canon A630. I only have about $230 for my camera budget. As a beginner I'm looking for something that will grow with me for at least a little while. I'm most interested in doing portraits starting with just friends and family and not really sure where it'll go from there.

well first, those are not dslr's (digital single lens reflex) they have electronic viewfinders which means when you look through the viewfinder your seeing the same digital display as on the LCD. so the lens is not interchangeable. i'd say go with the Olympus personally. its looks a bit bigger which should make it easier to hold and also you have the option to save pictures in RAW format which could be useful especially for portraits.

I knew the easyshare isn't a dslr but for some reason I did think the Olympus was. Oops! Can we say embarrassing moment for an amatuer!

dont worry about it. nothing wrong with going with what they call a pro consumer camera i just upgraded to a DSLR but either one of those should be good for what you want to do. i'm not a big fan of Kodak's but thats just me. but the kodak looks a bit smaller which may be nice if you want to be able to bring it a lot of places with you