Olympus 35 RC Low Light Tips Required Please!

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by thomas610, Nov 15, 2017.

1. thomas610

thomas610 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've recently purchased a fully refurbished olympus 35 RC which is a great little camera. The only problems i'm having are with regards to low light. I don't want to buy an external flash as i prefer taking street photos at night where discretion is preferred! Anyone got any tips on what film is best to use etc. etc. I also prefer shooting in shutter priority mode but any tips on using fully manual would be great.

I should also mention that this is my first ever film camera and i'm a total novice... so go easy on me! Thanks!

2. limr

limr Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The first thing that comes to mind is to push develop your film. This is much easier to do when using black and white film. Kodak TriX or Ilford HP5 are both very good films to try this with.

Basically what this means is that you are using a 400ISO film but shooting it at 800 ISO or 1600 ISO. Then the film is developed longer to account for the extra exposure.

Before you try this, however, make sure that whoever is developing your film is willing to push develop.

3. denada

denada No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    35 rc is a fun camera and great for night photography because it can be used in manual.

street photography at night without a flash will be a challenge. to keep your shutter speed fast enough and to focus accurately with a wide aperture / thin depth of field.