Olympus om lenses for e-400

Amadeus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi! I have Olympus E-400 and although I'm quite new to photography, I feel that I need some more (different) lenses. As my budget is limeted my eye was caught by OM adapter. OM lenses cost just a fraction compared to 3/4 lenses. I am just wondering if having that adaptor and "old" OM lenses has any downsides? Could someone give me any advice on this subject? Thank you! :blushing:

Hi! I have Olympus E-400 and although I'm quite new to photography, I feel that I need some more (different) lenses. As my budget is limeted my eye was caught by OM adapter. OM lenses cost just a fraction compared to 3/4 lenses. I am just wondering if having that adaptor and "old" OM lenses has any downsides? Could someone give me any advice on this subject? Thank you! :blushing:

There are downsides and upsides to everything, thats the beauty.

The OM Zuiko's are wonderful lenses from there time and still produce great photographs. The biggest downside is no autofocus obviously. With many lenses this makes it harder to focus in the small viewscreen of the E-500 (I'd assume the E-400 too.) Film cameras also had a split prism focus screen to aid in focusing, and without that on digital cameras it's even harder to focus.

As for image quality, the quality is great with primes. With the zoom lenses, may or may not be so great, near the edges of the photos at the wide end there's usually color fringing and such that becomes apparent at the 2x crop factor of the 4/3 design.

The primes on the other hand were so well made from that era that they work GREAT. Hardly any fringing at the corners. And for the speed of some of the lenses... wow! And primes are so fun to work.

The OM zuiko lenses have a 2x crop factor, so any wide angle lens won't be so wide on 4/3. This can be a good or bad thing. Don't spend $1,200 on a 10mm OM Zuiko obviously. ;-) It'd end up being 20mm on 4/3...and your kit lens can cover that!