Olympus PEN PL5 lets talk about lenses!

CloverMom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just purchased an Olympus PEN PL5 with a kit 14-42mm II R + a 40-150mm f/4.0-5.6 R Micro ED

I've stated before but I'll remind everyone, I am just a hobby photographer. My work will be published in a nice scrap book for my own personal use or will be framed and hung on the wall in my home. I take pictures of my kids and pets mostly but would like to expand and explore other things. I have an open mind when it comes to photography and I love all the information I can get. I love to learn. With all that being said, lets talk about lenses.

I already have the two lenses but I'm guessing those are starter lenses which is perfectly fine as I am just starting out :) I am probably not going to purchase any lenses anytime in the immediate future but my birthday is coming up along with my anniversary ;) lenses make perfect gifts right? So anyway, if you were just starting out and just for fun what would your short term and long term lens goals be? I know this is a very common question. I appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to hearing from you :)

Also, do you all buy used or refurbished lenses or do you prefer new?

I have been using the OMD EM5 for awhile now and have purchased quite a few lens, which I believe fit the new Pen.

Usually I buy new, but have looked on ebay, etc. for the best prices. You might looked into the 45mm 1.8 or the 75mm 1.8 as well.

If you have any other lens from another camera ; i.e. nikon or canon, you can get an adapter
which will allow you to use the lens on the body, but at a loss of auto functions.

This is suppose to be a great little camera , have fun.

Don't plan.... long term for purchases...

Simply shoot and your needs will be realized in due time. It is at that point you should ask the question of what to buy next. What you want to shoot drives your purchases not the other way around.