• Olympus OM-D E-M1

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

PropilotBW

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking and debating between these two cameras and hoping I could get some additional opinions from you on these two cameras. I have done hours and hours of research on them and they are very very similar and competitive. So maybe I could have some additional advise or opinions on what you might like or dislike about yours?

So...Who am I?
I am a hobbyist, enthusiast.

What do I shoot?
Mostly, My two young kids and everything that comes with.
Landscape, cityscape while traveling.
Occasional telephoto of animals, zoo and backyard mostly.

What do I want?
I want something that is small. I had a Nikon D5100, and thought it was a bit cumbersome taking with me while traveling.
Something that has great autofocus, since my kids are very active.
Excellent image quality.

What do I like about Fuji:
Larger sensor
New firmware update improving many shortcomings
Excellent Viewfinder
Lenses are top-notch
Photo quality is top notch

What do I hesitate about Fuji:
The size may be a tad bit bigger than the OM-D E-M1
Not as many lenses to choose from now, but I can guarantee that will change.
Lenses are expensive for a hobbyist

What do I like about the E-M1:
Smaller size (with some lenses)
Budget lens availability.
More lenses available (now)
Excellent reviews all around

What do I hesitate about E-M1:
Wondering if an improved E-M5 will come out soon, which I would definitely but over an E-M1 strictly due to size.
I think the image quality in low light may not be as good.

So, what do you think are some of your favorite aspects of the camera and lens set-up you have?

Also, I am not interested in any Sony A7 product.

Last edited:
The EM5-II should be announced at the beginning of Feb.

Rumours say it has:

• 16MP sensor but up to 40MP using sensor shift technology