OMG its driving me nuts pleeeeeeaaase help

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Vicelord John, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. Vicelord John

    Vicelord John TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I took some shots today on my D90 in raw and the camera said they were whatever resolution like 4xxx x 3xxx or something.... seemed normal.

    When I upload them on my computer, they suddenly become 160x120.

    Why is this happening?

    Dimensions: 160x120
    Device Make: NIKON CORPORATION
    Device model: NIKON D90
    Color space: RGB
    Focal length: 50
    F number: 5.6
    Alpha channel: no
    Red eye: no
    Exposure time: 1/60

    Here is a picture of it in the camera:
    [​IMG]

    Here is a picture of my desktop:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  2. Bitter Jeweler

    Bitter Jeweler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,984
    Likes Received:
    4,971
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Is there an import setting that changes the resolution, or file size?
    How did you import them?
     
  3. Vicelord John

    Vicelord John TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I went into the card through my desktop and dragged the .NEF onto my desktop and it copied it there.
     
  4. jnm

    jnm TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i dont know what the 160x120 means but i'd think you should look at the MP count. , 4288 * 2848 = 12,212,224... or 12.2 MP so that pretty much checks out. the fact that it is 11.4 after import seems a bit odd but i've never tried importing that way before. try importing through lightroom. if you dont have it the LR3 is available in beta for free through April 30 here Adobe Labs - Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3

    try that and see what happens.
     
  5. viventi

    viventi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I'd try using Image Capture as well.
     
  6. themedicine

    themedicine TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Huge shot in the dark here, but you aren't capturing the files in RAW and like small jpeg are you? the camera has that capability...
    Like I said, thats just what first came to my mind.
     
  7. Vicelord John

    Vicelord John TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Aperture opens them as 160 x 120 too.

    Downloaded Capture NX2 and hmmmmmmmm WORKS JUST LIKE MAGIC!

    **** you apple. I spent $215 on this piece of crap. I make 30K a year BEFORE taxes.... $215 is A LOT of money to just throw away.
     
  8. themedicine

    themedicine TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    is there an update from aperature?
     
  9. viventi

    viventi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Aperture imports them that way? I have a Canon and shoot in RAW, aperture takes the photos in perfectly fine. Apple did put out some kind of DSLR update recently, like last week. Might want to check that out.
     
  10. Bitter Jeweler

    Bitter Jeweler Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,984
    Likes Received:
    4,971
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Is there a setting somewhere that reduces them on import?
    Also very odd for that to happen on drag and drop.

    I had a similar issue, but can't remember the specifics because it was like 8 months ago. But it was a settings thing that fixed it.
     
  11. Vicelord John

    Vicelord John TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    aperture is as updated as it can be, as is snow leopard.
     
  12. viventi

    viventi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    well it wasnt an aperture update, it was a dslr camera support update. I have a friend with a d90, i can ask him about it and see if he has the same issue...although i'm doubtful. i dont see why aperture would ever not import raw images properly.
     

Share This Page