On the market for a new lens. Need some help.

Ygoza

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I currently have a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d on my Nikon D90. I really want the Sigma 50mm f/1.4. I also want the Sigma 30mm f/1.4, a 24mm lens Nikon or third party, and a fish eye(probably the Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8). As I am a college student it's almost needless to say I won't be getting all this gear for quite sometime. I need your help. Im fairly new to photography and want to know your opinions as better established photographers and as wiser people. Right now my plan is to get the 50mm and sell my current 50mm to put towards a 24mm (I'm looking at a manual lens). But i started thinking why? Sure the bokeh would be nicer for portraits but I'm not sure if thats really something to worry that much about at this point since i do at least have a 50mm. So maybe the 30mm? but I'm not sure if that focal length is that different from the 50mm. I know that you multiply it by 1.5 (for nikon) to get your true focal length but like i said i don't have the experience. I want the 30 for walk around, the 24 for walk around/scenes, and the 50 for walk around/portraits. I want to stick with primes since the quality is better to the telephoto. What do you guys think? I guess I just need some opinions on rank of when to get what since eventually I will get all of it. Its just a matter of when I get what. Thanks!