One lens or three?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by cascadesjohn, Feb 16, 2010.

1. cascadesjohn

cascadesjohn TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm a fascinated amateur, not a pro. Just learning digital photography. For my Nikon D80 I have the 50mm kit lens, a fixed wide-angle lens, and a 70-300mm zoom. Changing lenses is the pain that I didn't foresee when I started throwing my money around ;). Should I sell all three lenses and buy a Tamron 18-270mm lens with vibration control that I see advertised in the latest issue of "Outdoor Photographer"? I suspect lenses that are dedicated to a single task -- wide angle, telephoto, etc. - - do those things better than a lens that tries to do each of those things. Opinions on the truth of that statement? Any thoughts on how disappointed or happy I'd be making the above switch?

2. wiredhernandez

wiredhernandez TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What I have learned is that it is better to get specific lenses as the large range cover alot of bases but arent really great in any range... Most useful to me is the 18-50mm range .. Then a longer lens .. And probably a 50mm 1.8 or so... If I had to pick that would be it.... They best you can afford...

3. Foques

Foques TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    ^
    indeed.

The larger range lens covers, the slower it gets, it seems.. And if it is covering a wide range and is fast, then it is rather costly.

4. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Absolutely! Stop the pain!

When convienence is more important than image quality, go for the super-zoom! :thumbup:

5. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit