One Setting - 2 Different Results!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Paticake35, Jul 7, 2007.

1. Paticake35

Paticake35 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi everyone...I'm the proud owner of a Pentax K100D. I'm still learning the "ropes". I take a ton of pictures of dancers - usually high action, stage lighting, about 40 or so feet away, and no flash allowed. I photographed two recent events with the same settings and got very different results.

My setting was: ISO 3200, "moving object mode", and no flash.
    In the first instance, I was close to the stage. My dancers were blurry and very whited out.
    In the second instance, I was in a balcony, far from the stage, but my dancers were clear.

Does anyone have any insight to my problem? I would have thought being closer would be better! If someone tells me where to upload pictures, I could show them.

THANKS!!!
    Patti

2. PPAAUULL

PPAAUULL TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I would think it maybe a shaky hand, different shutter speed or even aperture setting. Unless you set those manually to the same as well.

3. aMac

aMac TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Hmm. How bright a stage lighting are we talking here? I know that the last time I was shooting something close on stage with the house lights down, the best I could get was about 1/60 shutter speed at f4.5, and that was at 3200 ISO. Granted this was a concert and not dancers (which might be better lit) but it could just be that you won't get a fast enough shutter speed to really catch the dancers in motion.

You'd notice it a lot more up close where their movements are greater too I think.