One versus Another

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by Photoboy1980, Oct 9, 2009.

1. Photoboy1980

Photoboy1980 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi All.

I'm new to TPF, and wanted to ask a question. I've been taking pics for several years now with my trusty Kodak Retina Reflex III camera and have been pretty happy with the results so far. But, is any one 35mm camera necessarily better than another brand? I know I am limited to about 5 or 6 lenses total with my camera body, and the top speed is 1/500, but it has worked so far for me. I'm guessing the anwer to this question may depend on what I am taking pictures of, etc. It seems like a lot of the photog's here are partial to Nikon and Canon (based on the posts I have been reading); but, I was just curious what some of you think. Maybe brand loyalty plays a part too? Thanks!

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    A film camera is basically a light tight box to hold the film. The lens is like an artist's paint brush while the camera is more like the easel.

Of course, the camera is where most of the modern technology goes. That's where the automatic metering, auto focus, auto winding etc is.

So while a different camera can give you more/different functionality. It's really the film and lens that are responsible for the quality of the image.

Canon & Nikon are both very popular. Part of that is marketing, which has also lead to A LOT of brand loyalty among photographers and amateurs alike.

So is one brand better than another...yes and no. But consider lenses as much or more than cameras. And look at specific lenses, because most companies make a range of lenses...some of them are gems but some are dogs.

3. compur

compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

All Retinas are fine cameras and I doubt you'd see a significant difference
    in image quality per se using another 35mm SLR unless you wish to use a