Only the basic understanding of fundamentals, critique please

SoCarRob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys, I'm very new to the world of DSLR photography and have only a basic grasp of the fundamentals. It's difficult to know where to improve without some feedback from someone more experienced giving you some feedback. My gear consists of a Canon EOS Rebel T5 with the kit lens and an EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III. I'd like some critique on a few shots I've taken under different conditions if you would be so kind:

You've already got the link to information about exposure.

Another really important topic area is composition and the elements of design. Composition is a huge area that encompasses all the subtleties of exposure, contrast, framing, leading lines, depth, and so on. And another really important area, especially if you're wanting to capture people, is posing.

Either of these topics is bigger than what could be easily posted into a thread. I'll touch on one of my pet peeves and then point out a book or two.

Don't shoot down at your subjects... Sorry, that's just my thing. Psychologically, I think that aiming down towards the person is to put them at a lower stature than you or the viewer of the photograph. Get down on a knee or otherwise scrunch down to capture the kids at eye level. You did that for the reptile, but not the kids. There are plenty of exceptions to this or any other rule, but that's just an opinion that I have.

Now, one advantage to shooting more at eye level is you start to get more interesting backgrounds than just the ground or furniture. As an example, in the first picture, there's a distinct line between the sidewalk and the ground cover that leads right into her head. Plus there's the blue chalk/paint mark on the sidewalk too. These don't help your portraits.