Opening Photos From Mac Photo App

Donde

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to the Mac and still finding out how things work but one thing that surprised me is there doesn't seem to be an easy way of uploading photos located in the photo app directly to an internet site like Smugmug etc. since photos in the photo app aren't accessible in Mac's "Finder". The only solution I've found is to move them out of the photo app to the desktop which is accessible in Finder. This seems clumsy to me and I wonder if there is a better approach. I will add that when I connect the camera to the computer to download photos they automatically go into the photo app.

I wonder if there is a better approach.
There is. Don't use the Mac photos app. Seriously, it's horrendous. Upload the photos from the camera to the computer manually.

That app works great for the general public, but it's a failure for photographers, IMO.

I'm new to the Mac and still finding out how things work but one thing that surprised me is there doesn't seem to be an easy way of uploading photos located in the photo app directly to an internet site like Smugmug etc. since photos in the photo app aren't accessible in Mac's "Finder". The only solution I've found is to move them out of the photo app to the desktop which is accessible in Finder. This seems clumsy to me and I wonder if there is a better approach. I will add that when I connect the camera to the computer to download photos they automatically go into the photo app.
open Finder and, in the left hand pane, click on Pictures. On the next door pane there is a folder marked Photos (or something very similar). When I fire up the iMac this evening I will post the exact position.

As I mentioned in your other thread, don't use Photos, use Elements for all your photograph handling.

Yes, that is clumsy. That's how Apple wants you to do things.