Opinion on a divisive photo.

tmyprod

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I recently got some film developed and posted what I felt were some of the better shots on 4chan's /p/ board (something about having a roomful of people call all my shot's crap motivates me to take better photos), but one of the pics I posted caused quite an uproar with some calling the shot terrible (in slightly more "colorful" terms) and others calling it great.

I just wanted to get a slightly more civilized opinion on the photo.

3561603192_6f35668804_o.jpg

I'll post some more of my last roll or two if you're interested.

-Tmyprod

I like the subject, but there is WAY WAY WAY too much sky there for my liking. It adds absolutely nothing to the picture in my opinion.

I took others with varying amounts of "white", this on just caused the biggest stir.

Here's another (for example)

3567869625_9d54cff12b_o.jpg

Since I am not a beginner, I should not perhaps be commenting in this thread.
Nevertheless, I agree with Seward. The sky really does not contribute to the shot and some of it needs to be cropped out. A photographic approach to get a better sky and a little more detail in the foreground would be to use a graduated neutral density filter.

However, I think it is a good shot. Composition-wise, you have made interesting use of the shapes of the rocks and the jagged water path leads into the photo which adds to its effectiveness.

I would prefer colour to black and white, since quality black and white shots require great detail and numerous tonal variations between deep black and strong whites.

The shot works so I don't see why anyone would think it was terrible.

skieur

Composition of the rocks and beach itself is good...............there is a lot of sky, but then doesn't it really say something about the barren location..