Optimizing images and Color Mode

AlexD70s

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Camera: D70s

1) For those of you who use custom settings, what do you set your camera to?

Sharpening: Auto/Normal/Low/Medium Low/Medium High/High/None

Tone Comp: " "

Saturation: .......etc

2) And for Color Mode, what do you set your camera to? For everyday stuff I always do jpeg but for more important events I do RAW+jpeg b/c im still learning RAW.

Ia(SRGB) - default
II (Adobe RGB)
IIIa (SRGB)

3) Any other settings that I need to adjust?

Thanks for taking the time to read this....any advice is greatly appreciated.

-Alex

I shoot RAW so sharpening contrast etc settings don't matter if you do this.

Default settings should be fine and editing on the PC is more recommended.

Colour is set to aRGB 1998 which has a wider colour gamut than sRGB however if you save images to the web you need to convert to sRGB as the web is optomised for this color space.

This is on a D80:

Image sharpening: Auto
Tone Compensation: Auto
Color Mode: IIIa
Saturation: + (enhanced)
Hue Adjustment: 0 degrees

(I shoot JPEG for most things, and I like to be able to print straight from the camera.)

This is on a D80:

Image sharpening: Auto
Tone Compensation: Auto
Color Mode: IIIa
Saturation: + (enhanced)
Hue Adjustment: 0 degrees

(I shoot JPEG for most things, and I like to be able to print straight from the camera.)

Shooting in IIIa (sRGB) will not get the most from your image as you are restricting the color gamut somewhat. Fine for posting on the web but if you want to print you may be better with as much info as possible.

Probably not a massive difference but always worth considering.